Sorsha vs Deneghra – Pigs included

Not a typo, there are some pigs but also some pics in this post. I played a game against my friend’s Cryx today and tested the brand new piggies. I also used the standard battle box battle group, which I haven’t played for some time in any of my lists. So here is what was put on the table:

Kommander Sorscha
* Destroyer
* Juggernaut
Widowmakers (Leader and 3 Grunts)
Winter Guard Infantry (Leader and 6 Grunts)
Winter Guard Infantry Officer & Standard
Winter Guard Mortar Crew (Leader and Grunt)
Kovnik Jozef Grigorovich
Rorsh & Brine

and:

Warwitch Deneghra
* Deathripper
* Deathripper
* Nightmare
* Reaper
Bile Thralls (Leader and 5 Grunts)
Mechanithralls (Leader and 9 Grunts)
Necrosurgeon & 3 Stitch Thralls
Revenant Cannon Crew

I decided to go second trying to get some shots in first turn. And it worked. Took out six or seven of the Mechanithralls with the Destroyer and Winterguard. Nightmare choosed the Juggernaut as prey, btw.

Here is what it looks like after the first round:

Some of the Mechanithralls returned in round 2 and the unit ran into contact of my ‘jacks, Widowmakers and Winterguard. So the Winterguard made maximum use of their sprays and managed to put down all of the Mechanithralls thanks to Kovnik Joe’s hit boosting speech. By that my Destroyer could charge one of the ‘rippers and the Juggernaut tried to stay away from the Nightmare.

In the third round Deneghra used her feat but just had Sorsha, the Minions and the ‘jacks in her control area. One of the Bilethralls managed to kill three of the Widowmakers and four members of the Winterguard with purge. In combination with her Crippling Grasp spell the Reaper took out my Juggernaut and Nightmare destroyed my Destroyer. I took revenge using Brine thanks to diversionary tactics, and Brine destroyed Nightmare by getting a critical knockdown with the first hit. So even the lower SPD and MAT caused by Deneghras feat couldn’t stop the gargantuan piggie ;). After the third round there wasn’t that much left of both forces:

During the final round Brine was killed by the Reaper and Sorsha used her feat in combination with Wind Rush to charge Deneghra. So in the end I could win this game with a ‘caster kill. Great game again with lots of action.


Posted on March 27, 2010, in Battle reports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment