Khador Heavy ‘jack Plastic Kit

This post will probably become a little bit rantish. Last week I received the new Khador Heavy ‘jack Plastic Kit. First thing I noticed was that the Decimator’s gun looked some sort of twisted. That means, the middle, a quite massive part, was bent somehow. I’ve never seen something like that before on a plastic model. Looked like one side was slightly molten. I could fix this miscast by adding some heat to the weapon and bending it back.

Then yesterday as I started to assemble the ‘jack’s body I noticed the amount of burr on the plastic. Some of it in really daft places, like, between the rivets – so not that easy to remove. There were also some massive parts of  sprue left. So it took a lot of work to clean up the plastics, more than I’m used from other companies’ plastic miniatures.

And last but not least some design issues I’m not happy about. The whole ‘jack design stands very tall. I mean higher than Beast 09 tall. Haven’t compared to the classic Heavys yet, but it looks like the new ‘jacks are a lot bigger. Imho absolutely unnecessary with the new design becoming so huge. Last negative fact is the missing Khador emblem on the top of the ‘jack. Yeah, you can paint it but that’s not the same like a fully modelled detail.

So I’m somehow disappointed with the new plastic ‘jacks and quite glad I won’t buy any more of this boxes as I’m going to build a multijack by using magnets.

Posted on April 6, 2010, in Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well, the new designs are supposed to be bigger than the classic ones. It also with my cygnar plastic jack. I expect to find the plastic lights at least as big as Thorn.
    If there is a production error, go back to the store. I really hope your multijack will work. I personally don’t believe in the power of magnets ;-D
    See you

  2. What I did with my Beast 09 is added washers in the torso to make him higher. He looks comparable now.

Leave a Reply

