Vlad vs Severius on Close Quarters

This week I made some last playtest for the tournament on saturday playing with time limit as defined in the Steamroller ruleset and with the Vlad list I’m going to use. We threw a dice for the scenario and played Close Quarters.

The lists were as following:

Vladimir, The Dark Prince
* Beast-09
* Destroyer
Greylord Ternion (Leader and 2 Grunts)
Man-o-war Demolition Corps (Leader and 2 Grunts)
Winter Guard Mortar Crew (Leader and Grunt)
Koldun Lord
Man-o-war Drakhun (with dismount)

and:

Grand Scrutator Severius
* Devout
* Revenger
* Reckoner
* Vanquisher
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts)
Exemplar Errants (Leader and 9 Grunts)
Vassal of Menoth
Vassal of Menoth

I got the first turn.  The set up battleground looked like this:

I positioned my troops to prepare the first strikes and my Destroyer made a first shot at the Errants that missed:

The Protectorate advanced and in my turn I made a charge with the Drakhun at the Reckoner and did some damage. The Demo Corps took the scenario template on my half of the battlefield to prevent the Protectorate from scoring early. The mortar took out some Errants. I forgot my plan to shoot the Reckoner with my Destroyer before charging with the Drakhun so it made only a missing shot at the Errants.

In the Protectorate’s second turn the Reckoner destroyed both the mounted and dismounted Drakhun. The Vanquisher set two of the Demos and two Greylords on fire, which died instantly. The Errants charged what they could get and destroyed two Demos. Beast 09 got it’s movement and cortex crippled by the Reckoner and the charging Errants. At least the Protectorate couldn’t score this round.

In my third turn Beast crippled the Reckoner and killed two Errants thanks to Thresher. The remaining Greylord’s spray killed some more Errants. But no score for anyone.

During the next turn my Destroyer lost his arms by Reckoner Attacks and the Protectorate scored one Control Point as they killed the last Demo.

With battle wizardry I killed the last Errants and damaged the Devout. The Reckoner could not stand the combined attacks of Beast and the crippled Destroyer. Also Beast killed a Vassal who was trying to hide in the wood to refuse a control point. Conclusion: control point khador.

In the final round the choir moved into the control zone I had to take, which enabled some easy kills for me to score the second control point. Khador won!

This was a great game with a lot of warjacks wrecking each other. I hope the tournament tomorrow will run as well as that.


Posted on April 23, 2010, in Battle reports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

